HOW TO WRITE ROMCOM - BE IN THE AUDIENCE AT OUR LIVE, FREE EVENT

How To Write Romcom with Laura Kay and Phoebe Luckhurst

LIVE Q & A
TUESDAY 13 JULY 2021 7PM BST

Step into funny as we present an hour of romcom with the lovely debut authors Phoebe Luckhurst and Laura Kay and their brilliant novels – the perfect escape! One is about a lock-in, the other novel more about a lock out! Read on to find out more. Then book your audience seat via the ‘Register’ button. It’s live, it’s free, and YOU can bring your writing and reading questions.

Phoebe Luckhurst - Author

PHOEBE LUCKHURST

Phoebe Luckhurst was born in London and brought up in Glasgow. She is the Features Editor of the Evening Standard and appears regularly on their podcast, The Leader. She has written for the Guardian, Sunday Times Style, ELLE, ES Magazine, Grazia, The Telegraph and Vogue. Her debut The Lock In is therefore, unsurprisingly, an accomplished read about love, flatshares, school nostalgia, landlords from hell, and online dates which end up in an attic. Fabulously weaving multiple-narrative, The Lock In is entertaining and endearing, and a superb reason to lock yourself in and devour the story of Ellen and her flatmates, Alexa and Jack. Welcome to 49 Rokeby Close. Perfect for fans of Beth O’Leary’s bestseller The Flatshare.

Phoebe has had the theme tune to The OC stuck in her head since 2003 and once almost spent her student loan on a micro-pig. She no longer shops online when drunk.

Laura Kay - Author

LAURA KAY

Writer and editor Laura Kay was selected as one of the ten Penguin Random House WriteNow mentees in 2018. Her debut novel The Split has achieved much critical acclaim from Ruth Jones, Katie Fforde, Julie Cohen, to name a few – and it’s easy to see why! From the opening pages, where Ally is brutally dumped by her long term girlfriend, ousted from Emily’s home and her life, we find our shoulders shaking! Ally decides to take their shared cat, Malcolm, and move home to her widowed father in Sheffield. Reunited with old pal, Jeremy (also recently bereft), the two embark upon training for a half-marathon in a bid to impress their exes and boost their self-confidence. But will their plan work? Will Ally realise her mistake before it’s too late? And will anyone ever truly become a friend of Malcolm?

Laura Kay has an MA in American History from the university of Sheffield, and now lives in London with her wife.